Skip To Main Content

Tangipahoa offers a Virtual Learning Option that provides a comfortable learning environment without losing the traditional benefits of our public school system.

Application Window is Now Closed

What Is the TPSS Virtual Learning Option?

The TPSS Virtual Learning Option is a tuition-free, virtual learning option for public school students grades K-12. TPSS also provides all the tools necessary to get started at no extra cost. Any student enrolled in public school can participate in the arts, sports, select TOPS Tech, dual enrollment classes, as well as other programs.

Saves time because the program is already established within the district and allow parents to have a supportive role in their child's education rather than that of an educator.

Saves money because there’s no tuition, no supplemental material to purchase, no extra tutoring or support to pay for, and laptops/tech are provided by the district.

Saves stress because it allows for a relatively seamless transition to further education and offers flexibility for social and emotional growth for your child.

 

BENEFITS

GET ALL THE BENEFITS OF THE LOCAL SCHOOL SYSTEM YOU SUPPORT, WHILE LEARNING FROM THE COMFORT OF YOUR OWN HOME.

  • Free tuition and all the tools needed to get started
  • Dedicated staff focused on solely virtual students 
  • Live teaching lessons paired with 1-on-1 support as needed
  • Students can still participate in clubs, dances, sports, and even select TOPS Tech and Dual Enrollment classes

 

ELIGIBILITY

TPSS VIRTUAL LEARNING OPTION ELiGIBILITY

  • If your child was virtual last year, he/she must have successfully completed his/her courses in order to return as a virtual student
  • You must be currently passing all classes to be eligible for the virtual option.
  • Students must have completed the 2022 state assessments
  • Students and parents must participate in a Virtual Learning Summer Orientation
  • Any virtual student must agree to attend in person for any required state testing and any other required testing (Example: industry-based credential testing)
  • If accepted, students will remain in the Virtual Learning Option for the year unless a student opts out at the end of the Fall 2022 semester.

High school students only – not all Jump Start pathways are available virtually. The virtual pathways include the Arts, AV Technology and Communication; Business Management; Transportation, Distribution, and Logistics; and Information Technology. Also, dual enrollment and advanced placement courses are limited to what is available through the Supplemental Course Academy.

Collage of smiling teen boy and little girl students in headphones virtual learning remotely at home.

Frequently Asked Questions

FINDING THE RIGHT FIT

As a family, a virtual learning option may better fit the needs of your children.

If you know that something has to change with your child's education, receiving instruction online may be a rewarding and constructive possibility.

 

 

Application Window is Now Closed

Testimonials

In The News

Upcoming Events

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Jan 29
Mon, Jan 30
TPSS Bus Driver Training
-
Tue, Jan 31
TPSS Bus Driver Training
-
Wed, Feb 1
TPSS Bus Driver Training
-
Thu, Feb 2
TPSS Bus Driver Training
-
Fri, Feb 3
Sun, Feb 5
Mon, Feb 6
Tue, Feb 7
Wed, Feb 8
Thu, Feb 9
Fri, Feb 10
Sat, Feb 11
Sun, Feb 12
Mon, Feb 13
Tue, Feb 14
Wed, Feb 15
Thu, Feb 16
Fri, Feb 17
Sat, Feb 18
Sun, Feb 19
Mon, Feb 20
Tue, Feb 21
Wed, Feb 22
Thu, Feb 23
Fri, Feb 24
Sat, Feb 25
Sun, Feb 26
Mon, Feb 27
Tue, Feb 28
Wed, Mar 1
Thu, Mar 2
Fri, Mar 3
Sat, Mar 4

Have Questions?

Talk to us about enrolling now! Contact us at (985) 277-5303 or virtual@tangischools.org for any other questions you may have.

FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Contact

Dr. Shannon Nickens
Virtual School Coordinator
shannon.nickens@tangischools.org
cell: (985) 415-2410 
office: (985) 277 - 5303

We look forward to hearing from you!