Title I Part A

  • Office Location:
    500 East Pine Street
    Amite, LA 70422
    Cecilia (CC) Lanier
    Supervisor of Federal Programs
    Phone: 985-748-2470
    Fax: 985-748-4928


  • Title I is part of the federal Every Student Success Act (ESSA) which was signed into law December 10, 2015, reauthorizing the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act and revising many provisions of what was known as No Child Left Behind (NCLB).  The Elementary and Secondary Education Act is the United States' national educaiton law and longstanding commitment to equal opportunity for all students.

    Title I, Part A funds are provided to help ensure that all children have the opportunity to obtain a high-quality education and reach proficiency on challenging state academic standards and assessments.  The Goal of Title I is to improve the teaching and learning of children in high-poverty schools by providing funds to implement school reforms.  

    How does Title 1 assist and support schools?

    • Additional Teachers, Paraprofessionals & Programs to Support/Supplement the CORE Curriculum

    • Opportunities for Professional Development

    • Supplementary Teaching Materials

    • Technical Support for Instruction

    How do you become a Title I school?
     Funding is provided to each State from the Federal Government. The state educational agencies divide the money among the school districts throughout the state. The amount of money that each individual school receives is determined by the number of high poverty students attending that school. Schools use free/reduced lunch data to determine the percentage. However, a student does not have to be on free /reduced lunch to receive Title 1 services.


TPSS Title I Schools

  • Amite Elementary Magnet School

    Amite High Magnet School

    Amite Westside Middle Magnet School

    Champ Cooper Elementary School

    Chesbrough Elementary School

    D.C. Reeves Elementary School

    Greenville Park Leadership Academy

    Hammond Eastside Magnet School

    Hammond Westside Montessori School

    Independence High Magnet School

    Independence Leadership Academy

    Independence Magnet School

    Jewel M. Sumner Middle School

    Kentwood High Magnet School

    Loranger Elementary School

    Loranger Middle School

    Lucille Nesom Memorial School

    Martha Vinyard Elementary School

    Midway Elementary School

    Natalbany Middle School

    O.W. Dillon Leadership Academy

    Perrin Early Learning Center

    Ponchatoual Junior High School

    Roseland Montessori School

    Spring Creek Elementary School

    Tucker Memorial Elementary School

    Woodland Park Magnet School